Project Pyjamas: Now a Skirt Suit!

I wrote about the beginning of my pyjama project yesterday, this men’s pair of St Michaels pyjamas made in fabulous fabric. Doesn’t it make you think of Aladdin? It makes me think of flying carpets and Arabian Nights! 

  
Well here is my finished project… A skirt suit! This has been about 2 weeks in the making when I’ve had the chance to sew so I’m very pleased to have it finished and ready to take for a spin out! 

  
The skirt was quite easy to make. I cut the legs off the trousers to make the main body of the skirt. Then I cut the bottom of the shirt off to make a waistband and waistband facing, and added a side zip. Sewing it all together was easy but getting the waist/hips to go into each other smoothly was difficult without a pattern. 

  
  
I didn’t have to do too much to the shirt. Originally I thought I may have to add interfacing to the collar and cuffs but decided in the end to have it a bit more relaxed than that, like some kimono styled jackets that I have. 

  
In the end it was really just a case of bringing in the side seams and sleeve seams, hemming and adding darts into the back. Oh boy, was adding darts difficult! I’ve never done darts without a pattern before so there was a lot of unpicking and resewing to be done. In the end I think I’m pleased with the end result. 

  
Well, I’d like to think I’ve learnt quite a bit with this project as it did take me out of my comfort sewing zone. What do you think of it? I’m thinking this will be perfect for work and I’d like to think its quite 70’s in style. 

  
Well, happy Sunday all! I hope you’re all making the most of what’s left of the weekend 🙂 

7 thoughts on “Project Pyjamas: Now a Skirt Suit!

Leave a comment