Poodles, Palm Trees and Pretty Skirts

Long, floaty skirts have always been part of my dream wardrobe but never my every day outfits. Then one day I thought why can’t I wear floaty skirts every day and swan around in swishy fabric?! I’ve since learnt that if there’s one thing that can make wearing my boxy work shirt feel better it is just that – a circle skirt.

The New Look 6346ย pattern was the pattern from the Simplicity Sewing Challengeย beginners round. I don’t qualify to enter as I’m not a beginner anymore (even though I still feel like a beginner at times!) but I couldn’t resist such a pretty skirt and was looking for a quick, easy project. I added in-seam pockets but other than that stuck to the pattern and was pleased with the easy make.

The fabric is one of my vintage scores. I love the bold colour and print, perfect for summer but also those odd Autumn days that grace us with warm sunshine. The buttons are made from coconut shell and are from my local village haberdashery.


I love the eco-friendly feel this skirt gives me – fabric that I saved from a possible visit to the landfill and buttons made from coconut shell that never made it to the bin. Nothing better than guilt free sewing, right?!

8 thoughts on “Poodles, Palm Trees and Pretty Skirts

Leave a Reply

