Me Made May: Week 1

Hello all! I am back from a lovely 10 days in Northern Ireland, it is so beautiful – expect a photo update shortly. Me Made May began while I was away and I didn’t let being on holiday stop me from joining in. I took a selection of my handmade clothes away with me so that I could fulfill two parts of my threefold challenge: Taking Me Made clothing on holiday for the first time and wearing three items of Me Made a week.


So here is an update of what I wore…

My latest blouse, 1940’s Simplicity 1590, got two outings. This blouse really has become my go to for a dressed up look with my favourite RTW M&S jeans and Guess boots. Add a cardi for day time or leather jacket for evening – it’s just so easy! Expect it show up a few times over May…

For one dinner out I went for a double whammy and wore two Me Mades. I made this New Look K6035 skirt in a day over the Christmas holiday, fast sewing isn’t usually my thing and I feel like that shows every time I wear this skirt so it doesn’t often get out. Ideally I would prefer it a little longer and wider!
I love getting out in this Butterick B6143 jacket, I am still chuffed that I sewed myself a coat. We were very lucky to have mainly nice weather while I was away but I did manage to wear it twice. I love how glam it makes me feel and as I lined it with faux fur it’s just so cosy, I wear it whenever I can!


Then lastly, as much as it wasn’t coat whether it wasn’t really hat weather but a trip to the Giants Causeway called for wrapping up so out came my Fluffy Russian Hat. Another Me Made to get a lot of wear over the last winter, I’m definitely going to have to remake this in a few colours.

So I think that adds up to a total of four Me Mades worn a total of six times so I’m pleased to have already exceeded my weekly target! Whether it will be as easy in every day life we will see…

One thought on “Me Made May: Week 1

Leave a Reply

