Fluffy Russian Hat

I mentioned in my post Hats, hats, hats! The other week about my plans to make my first hat, which is exactly what I did. I used the book The Modern Girl’s Guide to Hatmaking by Mary Jane Baxter and it’s just wonderful. It’s jam packed with hints, tips, pretty pictures and tutorials.

IMG_1394
All you need is fur, fabric for lining and to make your pattern. I got this thick, grey fur from Textile Express Fabrics for only Β£8 a metre. The pattern suggests you need half a metre but I didn’t even use a quarter, as it happens I bought a metre so I have lots left in my stash. I do have a project coming up which it will work perfectly for, though.


I didn’t have a compass to make the top of my hat so had to find a bowl the perfect size for my head to draw around. When I asked Sam if he had a compass he asked me where I wanted to go and looked totally baffled at the thought of me trying to navigate myself with a compass so yeah… We don’t do maths in our house. (You’ve probably noticed that the circles of fabric are too small, I did this wrong and remade them bigger)

  
So this is the finished product! A comfy and warm furry hat just in time for the cold weather. Is it bad that I’m actually looking forward to it getting colder so that I can wear this? It only took a total of 2 hours to make – including the pattern! Now that I have my pattern made I will definitely be making it again in other colours. Now to get on with my next winter sewing project… Did I mention that I love sewing?!

  

  

2 thoughts on “Fluffy Russian Hat

Leave a Reply

